Institute of Politics

Leadership and Governance


Mark Nordenberg

Mark A. Nordenberg joined the faculty of Pitt’s School of Law in 1977. Earlier in his career, he served as Dean of the School of Law and as Interim Provost of the University. In 1995, he was elected Interim Chancellor by the University’s Board of Trustees, and the next year, following a national search, he was elected Chancellor. Nordenberg served in that office for nineteen years and led Pitt through one of the most impressive periods of progress in its 229-year history.

Throughout his career, Nordenberg has been very active in civic affairs and has received many important forms of recognition. Among them, he has been named Pittsburgh’s Person of the Year by Pittsburgh Magazine and a History Maker by the Senator John Heinz History Center. Reflecting his role as a regional leader in higher education, he has been awarded honorary degrees by Carnegie Mellon University, the Community College of Allegheny County, Duquesne University, LaRoche College and Thiel College.

In 2014, Nordenberg and Jared Cohon, President Emeritus of Carnegie Mellon, received the Elsie Hilliard Hillman Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Public Service from the Institute of Politics. After stepping down as Chancellor, he joined the Institute as its Chair and has been particularly involved in its criminal justice reform and opioid initiatives. He serves on the boards of Bank of New York Mellon, BNY Mellon’s Southwestern Pennsylvania Foundation, Manchester Bidwell and UPMC.


Terry Miller 

In September 2005, Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg named Terry Miller, MSW, director of the University of Pittsburgh Institute of Politics. Ms. Miller also has served as a consultant on special initiatives to the Pittsburgh Foundation, Allegheny County Department of Human Services, and most recently to the Power of 32 Regional Visioning Initiative. She is also an adjunct faculty member at the University of Pittsburgh School of Social Work and Graduate School of Public and International Affairs. Ms. Miller is currently a Faculty Associate for the Harrisburg-based Legislative Office for Research Liaison (LORL) and is a board member of Sustainable Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Action Against Rape, the Grace Ann Geibel Institute of Justice and Social Responsibility, POWER, and Green Empowerment Training Alliance. Prior to her tenure at the Institute of Politics, Ms. Miller was co-founder and first executive director of POWER, the Pennsylvania Organization for Women in Early Recovery, a non-profit organization she established in Allegheny County to provide gender and culturally-specific treatment services to women who are in early recovery from addiction to alcohol and other drugs. Ms. Miller is the recipient of numerous awards, including the 1995 J.C. Penney Golden Rule Award, the 2001 Urban League of Greater Pittsburgh Racial Justice Award, the League of Women Voters' Good Government Award in 2001 and 2003 and was a 2004 “Strong, Smart, Successful Woman” Honoree of the University of Pittsburgh Alumnae Council.

Board of Fellows

Comprised of public and private regional leaders, the Board of Fellows meets each year to discuss and establish the overall objectives of the Institute. Board members are invited and encouraged to serve on the Institute’s policy committees and may volunteer (or be called to duty) as part of the Institute’s quick-response team, which reacts to rapidly arising issues of interest. For a list of the membership of the Board of Fellows click here

The Executive Committee of the Board of Fellows will provide continuous oversight for the Institute's operations and ensure consistency with the mission. The membership of the Executive Committee is drawn from the Co-Chairs of the Policy Committees.

Policy Committees

Each of the Institute’s eight policy committees assesses public policy needs within its domain and recommends targeted programming that will encourage policy decisions beneficial to the region. Committee cochairs and members assume leadership roles in the development, implementation, and evaluation of Institute programming in their respective policy areas. The Institute’s Executive Committee is comprised of the cochairs of these eight policy committees and offers continuous oversight and evaluation of the Institute’s operations.


The Institute of Politics has historically operated with a small and efficient staff to develop and implement its programs, special projects, publications, and internship offerings. The Institute is a component of the Chancellor's Office. We invite you to learn more about the Institute’s staff.