"A forum for public and private decision makers, where diverse viewpoints are aired and solutions are explored, off the record and on neutral ground."

Costas and Col. Lindstrom

Senator Jay Costa, Representative Paul Costa, and Col. Bernard Lindstrom were among the attendees at the Institute's 2014 Elected Officials Retreat, held September 11 - 12.

NEW! The Institute's eight policy committees now have their own pages! Click here to find links to past commtitee work, membership lists, and other information, or click on "About the Institute" above and then choose your committee from the list.


Heinz Aging case study cover

A Master Legislator at Work: H. John Heinz III and the U.S. Senate Special Committee on Aging
Click here to view a copy of the Institute's newest case study, released on December 12, 2013, about Senator John Heinz's influential and lasting work on aging policy.

Policy Brief cover

Report 53 - Fall 2014
This issue summarizes the Hillman Lifetime Achievement Award program, profiles Representatives Christiana and Frankel and their work in health care, and provides an update on the Institute's shale gas work.




Find more information by visiting the coalition's website, www.ahealthyunderstanding.org. Please direct any additional questions to Kevin Progar, project manager, at progark@hcwp.org or by phone at 724-772-8343.


On October 3, 2014, the Institute of Politics and the Center on Regional Politics at Temple University presented "Funding PA's Public Schools: A Look Ahead." PowerPoints will be available online shortly; in the meantime, please call 412-624-1837 to request materials from the program.

Elsie Hilliard Hillman Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Public Service Awarded to Dr. Jared Cohon and Chancellor Mark Nordenberg

On April 8, 2014 the Institute of Politics presented Dr. Jared Cohon, President Emeritus of Carnegie Mellon Univeristy, and University of Pittsburgh Chancellor Mark Nordenberg with the Elsie Hilliard Hillman Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Public Service. This marks the second time the award was given; Mrs. Hillman received the inaugural award in 2012. More information about the event will be forthcoming.

Click here to view a 10 minute video presentation prepared by Michael Bartley of WQED explaining why Dr. Cohon and Chancellor Nordeberg were selected for this honor.

©2009 University of Pittsburgh Institute of Politics - 710 Alumni Hall, 4227 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15260 - (412)624-1837